Wrapped center console in matte gray vinyl myself

PatrickM

Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
So I scratched my brand new Model 3's glossy piano black console the other day with - of all things - the edge of the clip of my badge from work and after a suitable time freaking out - I decided to wrap the console to prevent future damage, get rid of the finger prints on it and to cover up the scratch that freaked me out.

I have zero experience wrapping stuff, but I am good at watching Youtube videos telling me how to wrap stuff.

I wanted to do it in Xpel stealth (I still kind of want to do it in Xpel stealth) but I opted for vinyl because they sell it on Amazon and I love Amazon Prime.

I bought this stuff:

The vinyl is great stuff, but the tool kit seemed overpriced for what it is and maybe an Xacto knife would be better. I give the vinyl 5 stars and the kit 3-4 stars. :)

It took me about an hour - I didn't exactly time myself, but I did listen to an hour long podcast and I finished soon after it ended. It was not particularly hard, you cut the pieces to be roughly sized, peel off the backing, line up one edge with an edge that you want to align to, lay it down carefully by holding it up with one hand and pushing it down with the other while trying to avoid air bubbles, and then the hard bit is cutting the edges without slicing the car or making jagged edges (take your time), then I took a needle to the few holes that remained and poked a super small hole and pushed those down. About the only problems that I had was that I trapped a hair underneath and had to redo that spot, and I originally tried to fold down the edges down the sides, but then the doors didn't close smoothly because the gap is super small on the sides so then I trimmed those folds back and that solves that issue.