John

Tech Founder
TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Laughed when he said, "Annoying as hell."

Annoying as hell is me trying to explain to my wife's mother how to use the navigation system in her new Mazda. Her Mazda has one of those "advanced" UIs where there is a rotating "smart" do-everything knob and a set of companion buttons which together let you navigate the main screen. I design products for a living, and it was seriously making me angry. Not as much to figure out how to get to things—though that was frustrating at times—but to try to explain it to someone else. I find this "now explain to someone else how to do it" to be the acid test of any UI.

In the end, she set the radio to her favorite station (and left it there) and has never used the navigation (I even programmed a set of her favorite locations in advance). When she admitted that she didn't plan to use any of the features, I felt two things: 1) a little miffed the lesson didn't take, 2) glad I didn't have to drive it.

danzgator

Top-Contributor
Tesla Owner
Model S
Country
Country

Annoying as hell is me trying to explain to my wife's mother how to use the navigation system in her new Mazda. Her Mazda has one of those "advanced" UIs where there is a rotating "smart" do-everything knob and a set of companion buttons which together let you navigate the main screen. I design products for a living, and it was seriously making me angry. Not as much to figure out how to get to things—though that was frustrating at times—but to try to explain it to someone else. I find this "now explain to someone else how to do it" to be the acid test of any UI.

In the end, she set the radio to her favorite station (and left it there) and has never used the navigation (I even programmed a set of her favorite locations in advance). When she admitted that she didn't plan to use any of the features, I felt two things: 1) a little miffed the lesson didn't take, 2) glad I didn't have to drive it.