Tesla’s impact on the Auto Industry

Tesla Owner
No
Country
Country
Hi there,

I’m a 3rd year Journalism student from Liverpool John Moores University, and I’m currently working on a car magazine as part of my final year project before I graduate.

For my magazine, I’m working on a feature piece about what impact Tesla has had on the auto industry since the Tesla Roadster was introduced.

I’m hoping some people on here could possibly provide me with their thoughts on this by answering the following questions below.

1. Electric Vehicles have been around long before Tesla, but it seems more recently the bigger more established brands are finally beginning to think seriously about producing EVs of it’s own. (Audi E-tron, Mercedes EQC, Jaguar I-Pace) To what extent do you think Tesla has played a part in this?

2. Also, what are people's thoughts on the companies over-the-air software updates which get sent to each individual car? As far as I’m aware it’s only Tesla doing this?

3. I’m also interesting to know people on here feel about Tesla’s focus on automated vehicles. It seems to have been a catalyst for the upsurge in interest from other auto brands. I’m assuming many have reservations regarding this technology?

4. Lastly, Tesla have been operating within a market which seems to have been relatively free from competition. Now Audi and Jaguar are pouring lots of it’s capital into EV’s, what does Tesla need to do to improve to remain competitive?

A response to any of the above questions would be really helpful and much appreciated.

Thank you,

Harry

garsh

Dis Member
TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
1. Electric Vehicles have been around long before Tesla, but it seems more recently the bigger more established brands are finally beginning to think seriously about producing EVs of it’s own. (Audi E-tron, Mercedes EQC, Jaguar I-Pace) To what extent do you think Tesla has played a part in this?