Speed warnings

SoFlaModel3

@Teslatunity
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
9,814
Location
Florida
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#1
So 6 weeks in and I’m still figuring it out apparently. I’ve had speed limit warning set to “display” since day 1 and never figured out how it worked until just now.

478eda41-41fe-4bb5-becf-bae3192f7397-jpeg.6466


Notice I am less than 7 over the speed limit and the speed limit sign is small.

74989888-0b21-4afb-9f12-10243f7cb134-jpeg.6467


Now notice I am more than 7 over and it’s big. It also animated as it increases/decreases in size.

7c302541-71cd-4f5a-bd5d-1a58153d07d5-jpeg.6468


I had seen the speed limit sign increase and decrease in size before but didn’t figure it out until just now.
 

jsmay311

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
378
Location
Chicago Suburbs
Country
Country
#4
Side note/question: Does anyone know if setting the "Speed Limit Warning" to "OFF" would decouple TACC/EAP speeds from the speed limit?

I saw in a video that doing so grays out the "Speed Limit - Relative/Absolute" settings, but I don't know what effect, if any, that would have on TACC/EAP. (The section in the manual about the Speed Limit Warning setting and it's relation to TACC/EAP speed settings is pretty confusing.)
 

SoFlaModel3

@Teslatunity
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
9,814
Location
Florida
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#6
Side note/question: Does anyone know if setting the "Speed Limit Warning" to "OFF" would decouple TACC/EAP speeds from the speed limit?

I saw in a video that doing so grays out the "Speed Limit - Relative/Absolute" settings, but I don't know what effect, if any, that would have on TACC/EAP. (The section in the manual about the Speed Limit Warning setting and it's relation to TACC/EAP speed settings is pretty confusing.)
Ok so if you turn off the Speed Limit Warning it will gray out the Speed Limit, but maintain the Speed Limit selection and Offset. TACC/EAP continue to work with the limit but there is no speed limit “warning”.

207fccab-783f-45c7-8700-38b41dacb22b-jpeg.6485
 
4

4701

Guest
#11
Therefore Tesla should conclude, "DISPLAY" option is insufficient
as even advanced users hardly notice (or understand) the warning.
This is safety feature, manufacturer gets some points for that. Let's make it a
real feature, not just a show-off slider. Whoever doesn't want warning, can turn it off.

Proposal: Speed limit sign turns big and red. Secondary option: speed reading turns red.

Proposal2: "CHIME" activated at secondary custom limit while "DISPLAY" at primary custom limit.
Example: visual warning at +7mph, audio warning at +13mph.

Question, is the chime continuous or single beep? I'd consider single beep as more reasonable.
 

SoFlaModel3

@Teslatunity
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
9,814
Location
Florida
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#12
Therefore Tesla should conclude, "DISPLAY" option is insufficient
as even advanced users hardly notice (or understand) the warning.
This is safety feature, manufacturer gets some points for that. Let's make it a
real feature, not just a show-off slider. Whoever doesn't want warning, can turn it off.

Proposal: Speed limit sign turns big and red. Secondary option: speed reading turns red.

Proposal2: "CHIME" activated at secondary custom limit while "DISPLAY" at primary custom limit.
Example: visual warning at +7mph, audio warning at +13mph.

Question, is the chime continuous or single beep? I'd consider single beep as more reasonable.
The chime is a single beep that temporarily reduces audio volume so you can’t miss it.

I really like your recommendation! I don’t want the chime at 7 MPH over, but I want autopilot to default to 7 MPH over so I’m stuck since there is one control.

Let’s see what happens!

 

Triangles

Active Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
87
Location
Toledo, Ohio
Country
Country
#13
Reviving an ancient thread. I've had my TM3 for 2.5 months and I never noticed the speed limit sign change size! Who knows how how much longer it would have been had I not found this thread. Tesla definitely needs to make the size change bigger or animate it somehow so it's more noticeable. Also need a way to update it. A road on my daily commute changed from 35 to 45 mph 3 years ago but my TM3 thinks it's still 35 mph.
 

Lovesword

Tesla Quad Cities
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
2,061
Location
Iowa
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#14
Reviving an ancient thread. I've had my TM3 for 2.5 months and I never noticed the speed limit sign change size! Who knows how how much longer it would have been had I not found this thread. Tesla definitely needs to make the size change bigger or animate it somehow so it's more noticeable. Also need a way to update it. A road on my daily commute changed from 35 to 45 mph 3 years ago but my TM3 thinks it's still 35 mph.
You should see the size of speed limit sign when you get over 100, it's MASSIVE!:eek:



I'm totally j/k.

Related though, I get off a highway (50mph limit), take a right and drive a mile or so, then another right onto a road for my work. That road is a 25mph limit but my car thinks it's 50. I REFUSE to not use TACC on this road so every morning I'm activating it on this road and then frantically scrolling the right scroll wheel down as fast as humanly possible as my car is busy launching itself down the street!
 

SoFlaModel3

@Teslatunity
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
9,814
Location
Florida
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#15
Reviving an ancient thread. I've had my TM3 for 2.5 months and I never noticed the speed limit sign change size! Who knows how how much longer it would have been had I not found this thread. Tesla definitely needs to make the size change bigger or animate it somehow so it's more noticeable. Also need a way to update it. A road on my daily commute changed from 35 to 45 mph 3 years ago but my TM3 thinks it's still 35 mph.
I believe the front camera should eventually see the signs and update the speed limit the car shows. For now it’s GPS based and has a lag time for sure.
 

sdbyrd79

Active Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
28
Location
Charlotte, NC
Country
Country
#16
So I assume there's no official way to submit speed limit changes into a larger database somewhere? I go through lots of areas where they're wrong, but don't know how to get them updated.
 

evannole

Active Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
132
Location
Marietta, GA
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#17
So I assume there's no official way to submit speed limit changes into a larger database somewhere? I go through lots of areas where they're wrong, but don't know how to get them updated.
It appears that TomTom is the source of Tesla's maps, or at least that both Tesla and TomTom source them from the same place. The car incorrectly thinks that several roads in my neighborhood are blocked, and I noticed this weekend that TomTom thinks they're blocked, too. TomTom has a web interface for submitting map errors, but unfortunately, when I used it to try to correct these errors, it told me that something had gone wrong and that my changes had not been submitted.

I subsequently noticed the same errors on Apple Maps on my iPhone, so I submitted them to Apple. Maybe they'll get addressed and make their way back to TomTom and, hopefully, Tesla. I don't know if you can submit incorrect speed limits in Apple Maps, but if you have an iPhone or iPad, it might be worth a shot.

For what it's worth, despite the Tesla maps' having the look of Google Maps, Google Maps does not have these errors, so I suspect that Tesla is not using data from Google Maps in its navigation calculations.
 

GDN

Moderator
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2017
Messages
3,582
Location
Far North Dallas, TX
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#18
Funny finding this thread today. I was quite sure I had seen the speed limit sign change size just this weekend, but just wasn't sure. First time I had seen it. Just let it pass, didn't think about why. And now we know.
 

MRinPDX

Active Member
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
68
Location
Portland OR
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#19
So 6 weeks in and I’m still figuring it out apparently. I’ve had speed limit warning set to “display” since day 1 and never figured out how it worked until just now.

View attachment 6466

Notice I am less than 7 over the speed limit and the speed limit sign is small.

View attachment 6467

Now notice I am more than 7 over and it’s big. It also animated as it increases/decreases in size.

View attachment 6468

I had seen the speed limit sign increase and decrease in size before but didn’t figure it out until just now.
This week I changed it to the chime and relative to the speed limit and that works really well. My question is how does it know what the speed limit it on a particular road/street/etc? I assumed it was based off the map info (a road I take to work used to be 45mph and now is 55, but the dashpad still reports it at 45) but then when I am on my street (where my home is), it doesn't know that it is a 25mph zone.

Any other geeks have ideas?
 

MRinPDX

Active Member
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
68
Location
Portland OR
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#20
It appears that TomTom is the source of Tesla's maps, or at least that both Tesla and TomTom source them from the same place. The car incorrectly thinks that several roads in my neighborhood are blocked, and I noticed this weekend that TomTom thinks they're blocked, too. TomTom has a web interface for submitting map errors, but unfortunately, when I used it to try to correct these errors, it told me that something had gone wrong and that my changes had not been submitted.

I subsequently noticed the same errors on Apple Maps on my iPhone, so I submitted them to Apple. Maybe they'll get addressed and make their way back to TomTom and, hopefully, Tesla. I don't know if you can submit incorrect speed limits in Apple Maps, but if you have an iPhone or iPad, it might be worth a shot.

For what it's worth, despite the Tesla maps' having the look of Google Maps, Google Maps does not have these errors, so I suspect that Tesla is not using data from Google Maps in its navigation calculations.
I thought it was Google because of the use of traffic looked similar to theirs. Does TomTom source from Waze as well?