Siri and Model 3

  • SUPPORT THE SITE AND ENJOY A PREMIUM EXPERIENCE!
    Welcome to Tesla Owners Online, four years young! For a low subscription fee, you will receive access to an ad-free version of TOO. We now offer yearly memberships! You can subscribe via this direct link:
    https://teslaownersonline.com/account/upgrades

    SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL!
    Did you know we have a YouTube channel that's all about Tesla? Lots of Tesla information, fun, vlogs, product reviews, and a weekly Tesla Owners Online Podcast as well!

TrickorDevice

Active member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
28
Location
California
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#1
Hi all,

I've read stories and seen video of owners using Siri to control the Model 3. Electrek had a story recently highlighting the addition of Siri support for Model 3 in March.

Example: "Siri, unlock my car" or "Flash my lights" or "How much range do I have left"

I have the app installed and I have Siri enabled for the Tesla App, but she either says she can't do that, or directs me to the Tesla app.

Has anyone gotten this working? Am I missing something?

Thanks!
 

SoFlaModel3

Moderator
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
10,173
Location
Florida
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#2
Mine works, but I didn’t do anything different than what you did.
 

TrickorDevice

Active member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
28
Location
California
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#3
Hmm...which commands are you using with success?

I'll try them verbatim and if it doesn't work in a couple of days, perhaps if I deactivate and activate Siri or reinstall the app it might help.
 

SoFlaModel3

Moderator
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
10,173
Location
Florida
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#4
Hmm...which commands are you using with success?

I'll try them verbatim and if it doesn't work in a couple of days, perhaps if I deactivate and activate Siri or reinstall the app it might help.
Try these!

Hey Siri... what’s my car’s charge level?

... are my car’s doors locked?
 

Golden Gate

Active member
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
82
Location
marin county, california
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#5
Bumping this thread... I just enabled this function in the app settings (ios) and it says "You'll need to open Tesla to complete this request." and then prompts me to open the Tesla app. I have a iPhone X and ios 12. I also don't see any Siri shortcuts available to add for Tesla... this is very humbling....
 

Babar Batla

Active member
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Messages
51
Location
California
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#6
When I go to shortcuts app, I don’t see Tesla show up. I see all the iOS functions. Is it suppose to show up there?
 

Golden Gate

Active member
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
82
Location
marin county, california
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#7
I don't see anything there --- but if you swipe right to get to widgets, which I didn't even know about until this morning, you see the Tesla app (which you can put at the top) and if the car wakes up it will show you quick controls such as unlock.

But the big issue now is that verbal commands to Siri result in a request to open the app... from reading the forum it appears that verbal commands (unlock my car) used to actually perform the action requested, and that behavior has changed for some (or all) lately.
 

Flashgj

Active member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
108
Location
Utah
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#8
The Shortcut feature needs to be written into the apps and the Tesla app currently does not have any Shortcuts added. The Remote S app has a bunch of Shorcuts written into the app and allows you to do all kinds of things with your Tesla using Siri. There is even a bunch of Tesla Shortcuts posted on Reddit that you just have imported and use.
 

SR22pilot

Top-Contributor
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
613
Location
Alpharetta, GA
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#9
Bumping this thread... I just enabled this function in the app settings (ios) and it says "You'll need to open Tesla to complete this request." and then prompts me to open the Tesla app. I have a iPhone X and ios 12. I also don't see any Siri shortcuts available to add for Tesla... this is very humbling....
I get the same thing.
 

MelindaV

☰ > 3
Moderator
Joined
Apr 2, 2016
Messages
10,391
Location
Vancouver, WA
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#10
I also don't see any Siri shortcuts available to add for Tesla... this is very humbling....
When I go to shortcuts app, I don’t see Tesla show up. I see all the iOS functions. Is it suppose to show up there?
The Shortcut feature needs to be written into the apps and the Tesla app currently does not have any Shortcuts added. The Remote S app has a bunch of Shorcuts written into the app and allows you to do all kinds of things with your Tesla using Siri. There is even a bunch of Tesla Shortcuts posted on Reddit that you just have imported and use.
there's a thread for the Siri Shortcuts. You do not need Remote S, as the Shortcuts go directly to the Tesla API.
 

JWardell

TOO Master Member
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
4,201
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#11
Tp clarify, support is not built in to the Tesla app nor Shortcuts, you need to manually enter scripts into the shortcuts app, and the Siri Shortcuts thread links to the reddit posts where you can download those shortcuts.