New to Tesla

Life0fstacy

Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Hi! I'm new to Tesla and trying to figure out financing. Is there a thread on this? Or where would be the best spot for me to asks questions about financing for a model 3.

Thanks
Stacy

JasonF

Top-Contributor
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Tesla has its own financing (well, not their own, they have a bank do it) if you just want to keep it simple. I looked around and couldn't beat the rate they offered me. And I also looked around afterward, because refinancing doesn't harm your credit if you do it within the first 30 days or so, but I still couldn't beat their rate. They do not offer multiple avenues of financing like traditional dealers do, though.

If you have a really good credit union or something similar with better terms, though, I believe you can just put down the $2500 deposit and bring a certified bank check with you to delivery.

Life0fstacy

Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Ok but I wondering with lower credit scores where people have gone. If I had 740+ scores...I wouldn’t be concerned about financing. Is there somewhere on here where people discuss financing? I did the Cap 1 approval but they don’t work with Tesla...I was approved for 45k which is about how much the Tesla is. There was a credit union recommended on some thread on here, I called the rep and he said prob 20% down but I don’t really want to put that much down. I would rather put 10% down...

GDN

TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
There are a couple of threads here on rates, but I think they are getting a bit stale. As financial markets and interest rates change the information in those becomes old and non-applicable. The best thing to do is check your local institutions. Credit unions are often better on rates, but you must qualify or belong to the CU to do business with them. Google a few that are local to you and just visit their web site to see their published rates.

GDN