NEMA 14-50 GFCI

raginggoat

Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
I’m going to be running the wiring for my NEMA 14-50 outside next to my meter and up through the attic into the garage. Should I install a GFCI or will I be ok without it?

M3OC Rules

Top-Contributor
TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
I’m going to be running the wiring for my NEMA 14-50 outside next to my meter and up through the attic into the garage. Should I install a GFCI or will I be ok without it?
I'm not an expert or an electrician but I believe NEC 2017 requires it. Not all states have adopted it. You can see who has here. https://www.nfpa.org/NEC/NEC-adoption-and-use/NEC-adoption-maps Doesn't look like yours has but I guess they could have their own rules as well. I've been told by an electrician that the GFCI does cause issues in some cases. The Tesla Wall connector does not require GFCI since its hardwired. Its designed for outdoor use and looks cool. It also doesn't require the neutral which saves some money. If you poke around this forum and TMC you will find lots of info on this topic including nice pictures of installs and ideas for securing outlets, etc. Good luck and kudos for DIY.

raginggoat

Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
I'm not an expert or an electrician but I believe NEC 2017 requires it. Not all states have adopted it. You can see who has here. https://www.nfpa.org/NEC/NEC-adoption-and-use/NEC-adoption-maps Doesn't look like yours has but I guess they could have their own rules as well. I've been told by an electrician that the GFCI does cause issues in some cases. The Tesla Wall connector does not require GFCI since its hardwired. Its designed for outdoor use and looks cool. It also doesn't require the neutral which saves some money. If you poke around this forum and TMC you will find lots of info on this topic including nice pictures of installs and ideas for securing outlets, etc. Good luck and kudos for DIY.