Long distant trip planned from TX to FL. Help a newbie.

ummgood

Top-Contributor
Country
Country
I am so excited that I am planning a trip from Texas to Orlando to the mouse with my family in August. My parents will also be driving and will be taking 2 of our 3 kids with them so it dawned on me that I could drive my new Model 3 on a long trip to see what it is actually like. I am completely new to this and would like some input from people that have driven a Tesla long distances. Hopefully I get my car in time. My window is Dec to Feb.

I have already tried to make some reservations at hotels along the way that have destination chargers. It has been complicated because my parents want to use all Marriott points while I care mostly about destination chargers. My parents will be driving our van and want to stop in the same places we are but probably will make the trip as fast or faster than we will. So all my hotel bookings I started with the destination charger maps from Tesla and then tried to find my parents a Marriott near by. Plus there was some complication that the weekend we'll be in transit all the hotels in Tallahassee are booked up so we had to divert to Panama City. Anyway here is the itinerary and I have a bunch of questions I'll ask at the end of the post hopefully someone can answer. I used the EV trip planner to find out where I'll be charging.

Day 1 - Thursday: SW Austin - Seguin (drop off dog at in-laws) - Beaumont. Stopping to supercharge at Flatonia and Channelview. Staying at Homewood Suites
Day 2 - Friday: Beaumont - Panama City. Stopping to supercharge at Lake Charles, Baton Rouge, Slidell, Mobile, and DeFuniak Springs. Staying at Hilton Garden Inn
Day 3 - Saturday: Panama City. Stopping to supercharge at Tallahassee, Lake City, Ocala, and Orlando. Staying at a resort without charging.