Failed to turn on climate message on app

  • SUPPORT THE SITE AND ENJOY A PREMIUM EXPERIENCE!
    Welcome to Tesla Owners Online, four years young! For a low subscription fee, you will receive access to an ad-free version of TOO. We now offer yearly memberships! You can subscribe via this direct link:
    https://teslaownersonline.com/account/upgrades

    SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL!
    Did you know we have a YouTube channel that's all about Tesla? Lots of Tesla information, fun, vlogs, product reviews, and a weekly Tesla Owners Online Podcast as well!

  • A statement from the Founder of Tesla Owners Online:

    TOO is, and remains, strongly committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion and we see no place for hatred and discrimination in our communities.

lance.bailey

Top-Contributor
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
423
Location
cloverdale, BC
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#2
My wife's phone allowed her to drive, but not proximity unlock so she logged out and back into the app and all was well.

Try that, sign out of the app and back in.
 

Bokonon

Self-identified Teslaholic
Moderator
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
3,183
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#3
While trying to precondition our Model 3 we’ve gotten this message a few times and haven’t successfully been able to start the climate via the app.

Any help is much appreciated!
Do any other remote functions work, like lock/unlock, trunk, frunk, charge percentage, etc? I'm trying to understand whether the issue is specific to climate, or just a general connectivity issue between your phone(s), Tesla's servers, and the car.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2018
Messages
13
Location
North Carolina
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#5
Do any other remote functions work, like lock/unlock, trunk, frunk, charge percentage, etc? I'm trying to understand whether the issue is specific to climate, or just a general connectivity issue between your phone(s), Tesla's servers, and the car.
The car will unlock when I walk up to it and open the door but none of the remote controls work.

I can see charge level and was able to initiate an update via mobile app- just not do anything else.

Thanks for you help!
 

JasonF

Top-Contributor
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
1,471
Location
Orlando FL
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#7
While trying to precondition our Model 3 we’ve gotten this message a few times and haven’t successfully been able to start the climate via the app.
I've had two things cause that: Sentry Mode turning off LTE, and the LTE signal being weak at work.
 

mrau

Active member
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
60
Location
Michigan
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#8
Usually for connectivity problems a "two thumbs reboot" of the car computer and a power on/off of the phone will resolve most issues. Especially after a firmware update.

Often the phone will still unlock your doors/trunk/frunk since it uses bluetooth for that. Normally you can open your frunk as soon as you open the app and do not have to wait for the car to wake up and connect..... provided you are within bluetooth range.

Setting climate and other controls uses LTE/Wifi.
 

Frully

Top-Contributor
Joined
Aug 30, 2018
Messages
1,061
Location
Calgary, AB. Canada
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
#9
While trying to precondition our Model 3 we’ve gotten this message a few times and haven’t successfully been able to start the climate via the app.

Any help is much appreciated!
As others say - that error can be caused by a handful of issues - problem with the car communicating, and more often in my case, crappy wifi not getting the http ack from the mothership properly. Hard to diagnose sight unseen unfortunately. I find a reboot and airplane mode pulse fixes most every issue I've had.