Diagnostic Port and Data Access

  • SUPPORT THE SITE AND ENJOY A PREMIUM EXPERIENCE
    Welcome to Tesla Owners Online, five years young! For a low subscription fee, you will receive access to more features on the site. We now offer yearly memberships too! For more information visit this page:
    https://teslaownersonline.com/account/upgrades

    FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

    SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL
    Did you know we have a YouTube channel that's all about Tesla? Lots of Tesla information, fun, vlogs, product reviews, and a weekly Tesla Owners Online Podcast as well!

likandoo

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2021
Messages
2
Location
Germany
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Is there someone with Javascript and OBD Knowledge that could help out?

This is a Node.js app that reads from the OBDLINK Mx+
https://github.com/ProtoPie/protopie-connect-bridge-apps/tree/master/node-bridge-obd

This script is written for normal OBD Ports from combustion engines cars.

Could someone help out how this Script would have to be changed to work with the Tesla OBD / Can Format?

I would guess the answer lies in the obd-pids.json file and in the index.js where it filters for the PIDS right?


Edit:

Here are some first pictures, I want to create a Instrument Cluster that fits from proportions and design to the Model 3 Head Unit design.
Also the plan is different Version (Like super NERD Mode with all data / super simple mode) etc.

But for this I need the help with the Javascript up there.

IMG_8215_2.jpg IMG_8205.jpg
 
Last edited:

onessela

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2020
Messages
18
Location
Italy
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Hi, I am trying to get left/right steering wheel knobs (swc) data. Infos should be in 0x3C2 VCLEFT, "swcLeftTiltLeft", "swcLeftTiltRight", and so on. They are multiplexed so I checked also SwitchStatusIndex (Multiplexor), but data is inconsistent and wrong. I am using file 072020. Perhaps some update available ? Thanks
 

kornerz

Active member
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
85
Location
Kyiv
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Hi, I am trying to get left/right steering wheel knobs (swc) data. Infos should be in 0x3C2 VCLEFT, "swcLeftTiltLeft", "swcLeftTiltRight", and so on. They are multiplexed so I checked also SwitchStatusIndex (Multiplexor), but data is inconsistent and wrong. I am using file 072020. Perhaps some update available ? Thanks
0x3C2 data looks pretty much the same for me in 2021.4.18 as in some of older dumps I have from mid-2020.
Don't have a sample with wheel knobs tilted, but here is "idle state":
(1621489580.181087) can0 3C2 [8] 29 55 00 00 00 00 00 00
(1621489580.231342) can0 3C2 [8] 00 55 55 55 00 00 55 05
(1621489580.281074) can0 3C2 [8] 29 55 00 00 00 00 00 00
(1621489580.331900) can0 3C2 [8] 00 55 55 55 00 00 55 05
(1621489580.430847) can0 3C2 [8] 00 55 55 55 00 00 55 05
(1621489580.481465) can0 3C2 [8] 29 55 00 00 00 00 00 00
 

onessela

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2020
Messages
18
Location
Italy
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Thanks for helping. I check data when Multiplexor (data[0], bit [0-1]) is 1 (all messaged ending with 05). In these messages
0x3C2 data looks pretty much the same for me in 2021.4.18 as in some of older dumps I have from mid-2020.
Don't have a sample with wheel knobs tilted, but here is "idle state":
OK thank you now tilt wheels seem to work, now I'll try to get wheel ticks. Thank you again
 

onessela

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2020
Messages
18
Location
Italy
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
My custom display shows instantaneous car power as sum of
0x2E5: Front Power kW signed 11-bit SB 0, scale 0.5 and
0x266: Rear Power kW signed 11-bit SB 0, scale 0.5

When power is low (20kW@70mph) data is correct and matches with power level shown on display.
When I make a drag race, this sum never exceeds 160kW but real power is surely greater (ScanMyTesla goes up to 300kW and also graph on display).

Is there some other component that needs do be added to (Front Power kW + Rear Power kW) ?
 

JWardell

TOO Master Member 👑
TOO Sponsor Vendor
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
4,889
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Usually we read power from the BMS 0x132 by multiplying voltage and current. Power goes to more places than just the two motors.
 

CleanEV

Active member
Joined
May 17, 2018
Messages
86
Location
North Edison, NJ
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3

onessela

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2020
Messages
18
Location
Italy
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Usually we read power from the BMS 0x132 by multiplying voltage and current. Power goes to more places than just the two motors.
Hi, I tried this way. Readings are slightly different (greater, max. reading now is 200KW), which is reasonable, but very far from 300-350KW showed in display / menu Energy. Hmmmmm....
 

kornerz

Active member
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
85
Location
Kyiv
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Hi, I tried this way. Readings are slightly different (greater, max. reading now is 200KW), which is reasonable, but very far from 300-350KW showed in display / menu Energy. Hmmmmm....
That is strange.
Using this method, even my RWD SR+ pulls 225kW when flooring.
 
  • Agree
Reactions: JWardell

JWardell

TOO Master Member 👑
TOO Sponsor Vendor
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
4,889
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
A general shout-out to anyone with a Plaid or 2021 Model S (or anyone who knows anyone) that is willing to take and share a short CAN log, we would love to investigate, we could quickly find answers to a lot of questions like battery configuration and pack voltage!
 

JWardell

TOO Master Member 👑
TOO Sponsor Vendor
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
4,889
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Ask and you shall anonymously receive...info is preliminary and LOTS of CAN sleuthing is required, but plenty of good nerdy data discovered for plaid from a stationary log:

Pack energy 100kWh
Pack usable 97kWh
Max voltage 462V
Chassis type Model S :)
Performance package BASE :p
Max discharge power 791kW
Max charge power 118 kW
max discharge current 2300A
Drive max power 770kW
Drive max regen 90kW
System power limit 640kW
System torque limit 10300Nm (ok that doesn't seem right..)

110 battery bricks (110 cells in series) instead of the usual 96!
 
Last edited:

garsh

Dis Member
Moderator 📌
TOO Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
15,278
Location
Pittsburgh PA
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
System torque limit 10300Nm (ok that doesn't seem right..)
Apparently, it's a "wheel torque" measurement rather than at the motor.

 

jomega

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2021
Messages
1
Location
Sweden
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
No
Hi,
Does anyone know which message is sent to the BMS to request open/close contactor? This is for the Tesla model 3 battery.
 

JWardell

TOO Master Member 👑
TOO Sponsor Vendor
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
4,889
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Updated the post above with some corrected data. SavvyCAN decoding bug.
 

dimitar.ns

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Bulgaria
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Well folks have asked for years for a video walking through some of the can log analysis and data sleuthing I've done, so here is the opportunity!


Great video! Thanks for sharing your workflow with us.

Is there any chance we can also get the logs to play with them ourselves a little? I'm thinking to make a comparison table with model 3 messages and share it here in the thread.
 

JWardell

TOO Master Member 👑
TOO Sponsor Vendor
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
4,889
Location
Boston
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Great video! Thanks for sharing your workflow with us.

Is there any chance we can also get the logs to play with them ourselves a little? I'm thinking to make a comparison table with model 3 messages and share it here in the thread.

I can't share their logs but I'm sure more will be along soon.
I did run a compare in savvycan and there were hundreds of differences. It's using Model 3 messages for most subsystems, but most everything from the motors/inverters are elsewhere, and there are dozens of unknown things. Hopefully we can identify more with time, especially once Model 3 catches up to the same software updates as the plaid.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dimitar.ns

Redox

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
8
Location
Metz, France
Country
Country
Tesla Owner
Model 3
I'd like to read if ACC is enabled and the speed that the driver asks ACC to reach.
Currently, to read if ACC is enabled, I read DAS_accSpeedLimit if its value is 1023 (204.6km/h), I consider ACC is enabled. Is it the good way or is there another signal ?
DAS_setSpeed seems to be the speed that ACC itself asks the car to reach, is it right ?
I've checked every signal containing "speed" but can't find the speed that the driver can set... Have I missed it ?

Edit : my assumption about DAS_accSpeedLimit seems to be wrong as it doesn't stay at 1023 when AP is enabled...

I have another question, do we know how to use DAS_virtualLaneC0 to C3, to get a visual representation of the lane ?
 
Last edited: