Configuring now with unlocked software later

• SUPPORT THE SITE AND ENJOY A PREMIUM EXPERIENCE!
    Welcome to Tesla Owners Online, four years young! For a low subscription fee, you will receive access to an ad-free version of TOO. We now offer yearly memberships! You can subscribe via this direct link:
    https://teslaownersonline.com/account/upgrades

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL!
    Did you know we have a YouTube channel that's all about Tesla? Lots of Tesla information, fun, vlogs, product reviews, and a weekly Tesla Owners Online Podcast as well!

rnbows

Tesla Owner
Reservation
Country
Country
Hello all,

OK, i'm a newbie and this is my first post. I reserved a M3 all the way back in July of '17.

Now, my questions. It is my understanding that like the MS one could have paid for the FSD option at configure but obviously it won't be activated until it's approved by the Feds. I've also read that one could buy that option later but it's an approximate $1000 upcharge. The original option was the discount for ordering it early. OK, good. Is it the general consensus that this is going to be the way the M3 goes?

Which brings up the second question. Since the M3 has the same hardware config that the newer MS has, complete with EAP, is the EAP option something that can be unlocked later, again for a premium price point?

I'm not sure I need EAP now (well, in late '18/early '19 when I actually get it) but it would be interesting to perhaps unlock it later, after I've driven it a while.

Thanks and cheers.

SoFlaModel3

@Teslatunity
TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Welcome to the forums and congrats on the reservation! We actually have another thread going on the same topic.

While we don't have the specifics I think it's safe to assume $5k for EAP + $3k for FSD at delivery and if you do it after the fact it will be $6k and $4k.

Things are always subject to change with Tesla though so hold on to your seat!

SoFlaModel3

@Teslatunity