Advice for first-time DIY Paint Correction?

garsh

Dis Member
TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
I think I've decided to try to add PPF to my car myself. But it sounds like I should take care of any scratches in my clearcoat before doing so. I've never tried polishing a car before. Does anybody have advice for a beginner?

What's the least expensive polisher I can use? This will (hopefully) be the only time I polish a car, so I'd prefer not to spend a lot of money on the tool.

Are there any instructional videos that you found to be helpful? I found a couple on my own, but they seemed pretty basic.

MelindaV

☰ > 3
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
I think I've decided to try to add PPF to my car myself. But it sounds like I should take care of any scratches in my clearcoat before doing so. I've never tried polishing a car before. Does anybody have advice for a beginner?

What's the least expensive polisher I can use? This will (hopefully) be the only time I polish a car, so I'd prefer not to spend a lot of money on the tool.

Are there any instructional videos that you found to be helpful? I found a couple on my own, but they seemed pretty basic.
you can also remove swirls/micro scratches by hand polishing, if you are up for it, it'd save you buying equipment.

garsh

Dis Member
TOO Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
you can also remove swirls/micro scratches by hand polishing, if you are up for it, it'd save you buying equipment.
If the car is *mostly* in good shape, this would probably be preferable.

Do you know of any good set of instructions or instructional videos for hand-polishing a car? What kind of tools are required for hand-polishing?

MelindaV

☰ > 3
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
If the car is *mostly* in good shape, this would probably be preferable.

Do you know of any good set of instructions or instructional videos for hand-polishing a car? What kind of tools are required for hand-polishing?